Label-free Detection Methods


Reflectometric Interference Spectroscopy (RIfS)

Reflectometric Interference Spectroscopy (RIfS) is a label-free detection method based on multiple reflexion of white light at thin interfaces (white light interferometry according to FABRY-PEROT). Interactions at solid surfaces can be observed using time-resolved methods; the aim is to detemine thermodynamic and kinetic constants of these processes.



Surface Plasmon Resonance (SPR)

Detection of molecular interaction is realised through excitaton of surface plasmons using parallel-polarised light. This method allows the monitoring of changes in the effective refractive index of recognition structures.



Mach-Zehnder Interferometry

A coherent beam is split into two arms using a beamsplitter.The Mach-Zehnder interferometer is used to determine the phase shift caused by a small sample placed into one of the two beams. The difference in refractive indices is caused by the analyte binding to a sensitive surface which covers only one arm of the Mach-Zehnder interferometer.



Grating Coupler

Grating couplers can be used to determine the refraction index using an evanescent field. The refraction index affects the grating constant and thus the influences the interference properties of the electromagnetic light.



Infrared Spectroscopy (IR)

Infrared spectroscopy (IR Spectroscopy) is a type of absorption spectroscopy using the infrared part of the electromagnetic spectrum. This method can be used to investigate the composition of samples.

Markierungsfreie Detektionsmethoden


Reflektometrische Interferenzspektroskopie (RIfS)

Die Reflektometrische Interferenzspektroskopie ist eine auf Mehrfachreflexion an dünnen Schichten beruhende Detektionsmethode. Bindungsereignisse können zeitaufgelöst über die Verschiebung des für das jeweilige Schichtsystem charakteristische Interferenzspektrum verfolgt werden.



Oberflächenplasmonenresonanz (SPR)

Die Detektion von molekularen Wechselwirkungen ist über die Anregung von Oberflächenplasmonen durch parallel polarisiertes Licht möglich. Diese Methode ist sensitiv gegenüber Änderungen im effektiven Brechungsindex in einer Rezeptorschicht.



Mach-Zehnder Interferometrie

Einfallendes Licht wird durch einen Strahlteiler in zwei Arme aufgeteilt. Eine Änderung des Brechungsindexes in einem der beiden Arme, z.B. durch Reaktion eines Analyten mit der sensitiven Oberfläche, führt zu einer Phasendifferenz der geteilten Lichtstrahlen. Danach werden beide Lichtstrahlen wieder überlagert. Mit dem Mach-Zehnder-Interferometer ist es möglich, Bindungsreaktionen auf modifizierten Oberflächen zu charakterisieren.



Gitterkoppler

Der Gitterkoppler ist eine Methode, bei der der Brechungsindex über das Evaneszentfeld der im Wellenleiter geführten Strahlung bestimmt wird. Der effektive Brechungsindex beeinflusst die Gitterkonstante und damit auch die Interferenzeigenschaften für elektromagnetische Strahlung.



Infrarotspektroskopie (IR)

IR-Spektroskopie (Infrarotspektroskopie) ist eine physikalische Analysemethode und wird zur quantitativen Bestimmung bekannter Substanzen oder zur Strukturaufklärung unbekannter Substanzen genutzt.